top of page

The Easiest Way to Make A Faux Antique Mirror


"Mirror Mirror on the wall, whose the fairest one of all?" I just couldn't resist leading with this line! It's too much part of my Disney childhood. Although Snow White was a great fairy tale, I'd have to say that my all time favorite was Cinderella. There was just something about her sparkly, blue dress and glass slippers that I loved. Even today, I can still remember circling her dress with a pencil and telling my mom that I had to have her dress for my wedding. Good thing, I got wasn't far off! I'm so embarrassed... check out that headpiece. Yikes!

Ok, back to the actual purpose of this post - mirrors! I started on the journey to find out how to get an antiqued looking mirror for my kitchen cabinet doors. We live in a very old home without a pantry so I use this wonderful old built-in to store all my pantry goods. The draw back, however, is that you can see everything in them. Luckily, I watch Fixer Upper and on one of the episodes their friend Clint shows how to take ordinary glass and turn it into an antiqued mirror. Yay!!! Thanks again Fixer Upper!

So, I set out to experiment with the technique and after a couple failed attempts, found the best and Easiest way to Make An Faux Antiqued Mirror.

I first tried this technique on my kitchen cabinets. Here are the before and after pics. Its super hard to take good photos of mirrors, so I apologize for the sub standard photography. It's also really hard to truly see just how beautiful the glass turned out. Pictures don't do it justice.

Next, I decided to apply this technique to an antique cabinet that we use to store all of our games. I also used this piece to try out a new to me paint line called "Designer in You". I absolutely LOVED her paint, and will be reviewing it in a separate post here. I used a basic black paint called "Little Black Dress" and finished it with her basic clear wax.

Tutorial Instructions:

So, for now, here is a picture of the completed game cabinet along with the video tutorial on the Easiest way to Make An Faux Antiqued Mirror!

Watch the tutorial video HERE (or click on the picture below)

Supply List:

  1. A piece of glass

  2. Kyrlon Looking Glass Spray Paint

  3. Vinegar in a spray bottle

  4. Black spray paint

Spiritual Application

Have your ever wondered when mirrors were invented? I did, and I found out that the first mirrors, from around 600 B.C., were very simple. They were polished surfaces from natural materials that could reflect an image. After awhile, people started making mirrors from copper, bronze, gold and silver. Glass mirrors like we have today were first made in the Middle Ages. They didn’t have the modern technology used today, so the mirrors were difficult to make and expensive. In the Renaissance period after the Middle Ages, the technique of making mirrors developed. Mirrors could show a clearer image. Artists even used mirrors to paint self-portraits. They were still very expensive so only the rich could afford them. The process for making modern mirrors was developed in 1835.

So, if you're familiar with the Bible or at least I Corinthians 13 - the love chapter - you've probably heard a reference to a mirror. The verse goes like this, "For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known." So, what does this mean and what does it have to do with this post. As you may know, I try to find a spiritual life application for each project I do, and I couldn't help but think of this verse as I created my antique mirror. You see, the mirror we create in this tutorial is not super clear like you'd find in a brand new mirror. It's dim, faded and spotty. The apostle Paul, author of this passage, compares the imperfect state of believers, as to knowledge in this life, with what shall be in the life that is to come (Heaven). In this life it is as in a looking glass, (where we only see the images and imperfect representations of things), and darkly, in a riddle; it is but a little knowledge that we have, and what we have we get with a great deal of difficulty; but in heaven we shall have such knowledge as two men have who see one another face to face, and shall know God fully, in some measure, though not in the same degree, of the fullness and perfections wherein God knows us. (Matthew Poole's Commentary)

Wow. When I ponder this, I think about the "list" of questions I have for God when I die. That said, I wonder if they will even matter then? After I die, will I have a cleared, unclouded view of life? Will all my questions be answered? Will they even matter anymore? I guess I won't know for sure until I die, but I will be reminded, however, every time I look at one of my mirrors, that I will see more clearly one day. At the very least I have that to look forward too.

What's your number one question of God on your list? (leave it in the comments below)

Thank you for watching and looking (glass, ha!)

Sincerely,

Heidi Marsh

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page