top of page

Spring & Easter Tablescape


Happy Easter season to all of you! Yesterday, we celebrated the Lord's resurrection!! I hope all of you have a good time reflecting on this miraculous day and spending time with family and friends. I had the opportunity this year to host our family dinner. Yay! Each year our family rotates Thanksgivng, Christmas and Easter between my parents and my sister and her hubby. Since it's been quite awhile since I've hosted Easter because I was living in Boston away from my family on my last rotation, I got excited! I normally don't get too enthusiastic for Spring décor (Fall and Winter are my favorite), and I'm not a huge fan of spring décor, I guess, because I don't care to much for pastels. Given this, I thought I'd try something new that would bring out the "farmhouse" style of our new (old) home. I set off to create a motif in green, white and brown (the colors of my dining room), and found lots of ideas on Pinterest, of course. If you like this tablescape, I've outlined below how you can achieve this look for yourself. Enjoy!

DISH AND STEM WARE: First, although not part of this specific project, I bought these great neutral dishes at Home Goods last year. Since they don't carry them anymore at least at my store, they can also be purchased at Amazon HERE. They are I believe I got a 16 piece set for a little more than $60 - not bad! I am a stickler for finding ceramic dishes that don't get too hot in the microwave. These dishes are great with heat tolerance although the soup bowl gets a little hotter than the rest.

Ok, now for the silver goblets... funny story here. In my neighborhood there is a church that has an annual garage sale that is to die for. Great prices and tons of stuff. The best part is that it funds their annual youth mission trip. This year I didn't have much of a budget, so I set out to find only what I truly needed, and that's when I spotted these! The patina was just irresistible. I had to have them! I ended up negotiating them down to just $2 a piece for a full set of 12. I wasn't sure if I was going to keep them for myself or sell them at my next junk show, but after getting them home I couldn't part with them. Then came my heart attack...

The next day as I was about to put them away, I decided to look at the bottom to see if they were worth something "just in case". That's when I just about died. I saw an inscription and sticker that read "International Silver Company". I immediately looked it up on ebay and up popped a set for well over $1000! The garage sale find of the century, I thought!!! I quickly got in my car, raced down to the antique dealer and ran in with my new found treasure. The elation on my face that I ran in with, however, quickly faded away as the nice man behind the counter informed me that they were only silver "plated", not sterling silver. Sigh. Oh well, my find wasn't a total loss, though. They are valued about about $10 a piece (more than I paid for them) and they are simply gorgeous! The best thing is that you can have them too! There are plenty out there to be found and you can do so on eBay, right HERE.

TABLE DECOR: Ok, now for the décor on the rest of the table!

1) Pallet wood box: The first piece is the centerpiece which I made myself from old pallet wood. It's 48' long and 5.5" wide. I sanded it down with 80 grit sandpaper and left the wood "as is" although I have done versions in dark walnut stain and white paint, both of which look great. You can make these yourself or buy one from my ETSY shop.

2) Vintage Bottles: The next element are the bottles in the centerpiece. Again, this was a great garage sale find, but you can also get some on ebay HERE

3) Moss: You can find this anywhere, even outside of you live in the Pacific Northwest! The moss under the box, however, is the bomb! It's a 4' moss runner. It's super easy to use and not too messy.

4) Chargers: I got the dark brown chargers and burlap chargers both at Hobby Lobby, but in case you want to order them on-line, you can also get them on Amazon at the links above, albeit for a little more moola.

5) Napkin Rings: I got the napkin rings at target last year, but you can find similar ones HERE, also at Amazon.

6) Napkins: Only the best white linen napkins for Easter... my hubby even ironed them for me!

And that is it my friends! Just add food, family and friends and you have the perfect spring table!

Happy Easter and Think Spring!

- Heidi

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page